SeSTA's Guiding Light

SeSTA's Guiding Light

"SeSTA's present Governing Board consists of nine members from different professional backgrounds. Out of ten, two are nominated members of SeSTA staff. One third of the honorary members of Governing Board as may be decided by Governing Board shall retire by rotation by every year. Such retiring governing board members may be co-opted by Governing Board for another term of 3 years."

The Governing Board members of SeSTA are:

Mr. Pushpadhar Das. Member.

He is a graduate from St. Stephen's College, Delhi and has done his PGDM from IIM Bangalore. He is a Member of Gramya Vikas Mancha, Nalbari and also a Advisor to Sitajakhala Dugdha Utpadak SSL, one of the oldest and successful milk cooperative of NE. He is well known as an agri- entrepreneur with vast knowledge and skills on village level farm machinery bank, Multi-cropping, crop-diversification, dairy, pisciculture and SRI). Mr. Das has led the MIS implementation at ASOMI and also been offering consultancy on Contract Farming of medicinal and aromatic plants as well as horticulture crops.

Ms Olee Bora. Member.

She has completed her graduation from the University of Allahabad and MBA from Gauhati University. She has also done PGDM in Training & Development from the Indian Society for Training & Development (ISTD), New Delhi. Ms Bora is currently working with North Eastern Development Finance Corporation Ltd. (NEDFi), Guwahati as a General Manager since 1996. She is also a director in NEDFi Trustee Lt. (NTL) and NEDFi Venture Capital Ltd (NVCL). She is a Nominee Director in Kanaklata Mahila Urban Co-Operative Bank and a few other NBFCs and Societies assisted by NEDFi. She has been a Resource Person to a number NGOs and Institutes. Prior to joining NEDFi in 1996 she worked as Personnel Officer in Bongaigaon Refinery & Petrochemicals Ltd. (BRPL), presently IOCL and The Tata Energy Research Institute (TERI). She is also associated with the MBA Department of Gauhati University and Tezpur University as External Expert. She has presented and published papers in national and international conferences.

Mr. Manoj Kumar Basumatary. Treasurer.

Mr. Basumatary is a graduate from St. Stephen's College, Delhi. He is the Co-founder of Symbiotic Foods Pvt Ltd. and also acting as its CEO. Symbiotic Foods is a unique Social Enterprise established to promote Pig Rearing and currently working in the value chain of Piggery sub-sector. He is a pioneer in establishing Pig rearing as a profitable livelihood opportunity and currently acclaimed as a trendsetting Social Entrepreneur. Prior to starting his own social enterprise, he worked as a Chief Manager in for State Bank of India (SBI) in New Delhi for 15 years and also worked as a Partner in Udayachal Ventures for 3 years.

Ms. Sandhya Goswami. Vice Chairperson.

Ms. Goswami has done her MA and MPhil from JNU, Delhi and PhD from Gauhati Univeristy. She was a Professor and also served as the Head of Department of Political Science Department of Gauhati University. She has authored various books like Language politics in Assam, Northeast India: Development Communalism and Insurgency, (co-authored), The Troubled diversity : The Political Process in North Eastern India edited, She has also published several research papers in National and International Journals, contributed several chapters to edited volumes and also writes in local Newspapers on contemporary issues. Ms. Goswami is a member of various professional bodies like Indian Political Science Association, North East India Political Science Association, North East India History Association and Lokniti (Programme for Comparative democracy) Centre for the Study of Developing Societies, Delhi.